15 Comments
author

Last night Michael cooked shepherd's pie, which was so good... the leeks and cheese on top of the dreamy mashed potatoes really make the dish. I've also made grilled cheese and ham sandwiches for myself for lunch a couple of times.

I will admit that I feel compelled to buy a box of Cheez-its, which is odd because I don't regularly eat them. I think I'm craving more salty snacks. Grocery order day tomorrow!

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I tend to cook a lot, but lately there has been a rise in morale-boosting treats: an Earl Grey tea cake, buckwheat honey granola, Irish brown bread. I used my last batch of yoghurt for yoghurt cheese, and that went nicely with a loaf of Scandinavian rye. I should have kept some back, because like yeast, all starters are out of stock.

Currently I'm an angry vegetarian because the normal stocks of beans were depleted at all the grocers, so I'll have to wait for my major order from Rancho Gordo next month. Beans are more of a nice-to-have (especially with fresh corn tortillas!), but I'm anticipating that staying inside is how I'll stay alive, so keeping well-fed is key.

I see a whole wheat millet bread in my future, mostly so I can rage-knead.

Expand full comment
author

Good food definitely helps with morale. We eat pretty well here what with Michael's excellent cooking. We also know that depending on how things go, it could get harder to eat a wide variety of food. So far, so good...

Expand full comment

"Rage-knead." Heh heh.

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I got a free turkey from the grocery store last November and stuck it in the freezer. Yesterday we had Thanksgiving. This morning my husband put leftover giblet gravy on his fried eggs, because I MIGHT have married a genius.

Expand full comment
author

I say there are no rules - mix and match your clothes and mix and match your food!

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

We're eating our usual garb, but mixing in rice to extend it longer. I told my wife that it feels we've entered the Great Depression era...

Expand full comment
author

It's just the first month of this...

(also, I hope you're not eating your garb, heh heh)

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

This reminds me that there are some fantastic WWI-era recipes for eggless and butterless cakes! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depression_cake

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Sounds tasty .. like my "garb". I'll look it up and save ya all a taste. I suspect it'll hold. heh

Expand full comment
author

Those look pretty good!

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I had some of our farm raised smoked turkey last night, best turkey I have ever had in my lif. Real treat. Waiting on summer I am still stuck on wild rice with legumes and hot spices as if it's gospel. Keeping things as simple as possible. Lots of green things in my everyday shakes. Ginger and elderberry juice shots on a daily. Keep safe and smart all!

Expand full comment
author

Yum! I bet that turkey was good. We get almost all of our meat from local butchers that source locally or grow their own. What are you going to be doing on that farm?

I bet you're glad to be here in Washington now. It will get warmer soon!

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I am building my tiny home! Starts this weekend. Just bought a trailer thing and away we go! I will be working somewhere and also doing the sustainable farm thing with friends here. So excited! And I like the cold! Florida was 88 when I left... shudders...

Expand full comment

Recently eaten: Rotini and meatballs and a cinnamon streusel muffin. I am really kicking myself for not buying a bunch of pints of Häagen-Dazs.

Expand full comment