30 Comments
author

I just checked out "Tenements, Towers & Trash: An Unconventional Illustrated History of New York City" by Julia Wertz. I will be reading it on my computer a few pages at a time. I'm able to manage an occasional graphic novel or graphic non-fiction book that way.

Expand full comment

i love Julia Wertz! I miss her daily online comics.

Expand full comment
May 14, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

About the only thing that's been able to keep my attention has be women-focused epic fantasy. I guess I really want out of the current reality. Most successful has been Kristen Britain's Green Rider Series (https://www.goodreads.com/series/41335-green-rider). They strongly remind me of Mercedes Lackey's Valdermar books (https://www.goodreads.com/series/56074-valdemar-publication-order) only... more straightforward since they aren't a giant world cobbled together from short series. I'm doing better with audio than print; I think it took me a month to read my last print book, which... since I normally read around 80 print books a year... that's a bit of a hit to my tally. It didn't help that the last print book did not even flirt with passing the Batchelder test (Highfire by Eion Colfer; great pitch, surprisingly boring).

I'm going to try some light romantic comedies next and see if that picks things up. But it's a little weird to read contemporary stuff where people go places and do things. And, like, touch people they don't live with.

Expand full comment
May 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I have been sorely tempted by some romance covers of late. Not the bodice-rippers, the rom-com looking ones. Like "No Offense" by Meg Cabot (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/52652422-no-offense) or "Party of Two" by Jasmine Guillory (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/49099926-party-of-two?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=bwQE1Wf3B7&rank=1). They look fun!

Expand full comment
May 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

If you haven't read Red, White, and Royal Blue by McQuiston, that might scratch this itch. Even Anne liked it! Also fun was The Bromance Book Club by Adams. Cabot can be spotty and Guillory is generally good, but not as funny as you might wish. Just to put romance's best foot forward. ;)

Expand full comment
May 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I will give Red, White, and Royal Blue a whirl.

Expand full comment
author

Even I liked it! And I don't read romance! It was excellent.

Expand full comment
May 16, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Oh, boy!

Expand full comment

i think like everyone else on this list, i am reading a few books at once. :) it always pleases me to know i'm not the only one!

on my kindle, i'm reading the latest installment of the Night Vale books, The Faceless Old Woman Who Secretly Lives In Your Home (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41571082-the-faceless-old-woman-who-secretly-lives-in-your-home). i won't lie, as an ardent, day 1 fan of the night vale podcast and all things spooky, i didn't love the first night vale book. i liked it, and it opened me up to characters i was previously unfamiliar with, but it wasn't the giddy in-love feeling i was expecting. THIS, though, this book has me firmly in its grasp. The Faceless Old Woman is one of my favorite night vale characters and i am having a hard time putting this book down. I'm even thinking of splurging for the audiobook version so I can hear the actress to who plays her, Mara Wilson, read it.

in paper books, i'm reading the authorized biography of Anton LaVey, the founder of the Church of Satan. It's called The Secret Life of a Satanist, and technically his last girlfriend, Blanche Barton, "wrote" it. (The Secret Life of a Satanist: The Authorized Biography of Anton LaVey

by Blanche Barton, Anton Szandor LaVey) I've read enough of Anton's writings over the years (listen, i grew up surrounded by satanic panic and I can't help it, I love LaVey!) to know that he was definitely helping. it's so delightfully campy and over the top and within the first few chapters you find out how irresistible he is to women, how men hate him because he's handsome and "well endowed" and he tells many, many carny tales. it's delightful and outrageous and my favorite thing to read when out in the garden. :)

Expand full comment
author

"satanic panic" - I remember those days. All that satanic music! The horror...

Expand full comment
May 14, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

As per usual, I disregard what I consider genre fiction until I discover it's exactly what I need to be reading. I've begun LeCarré's George Smiley books, which are fast, smart reads that deliver me into a time where travel isn't confined and physical relationships are possible. His style is informed by his classical education--elements of Maugham's Ashenden stories but with the added soupçon of post-war grayness and creeping rot.

This is my first time using a reading device, and getting e-books, so there's a bit of a learning curve. But it is nice to not leave my house for a book I want, I guess? I like the physical library though.

I have the newest translation of J.K. Husyman's Against Nature that I purchases right as I went into hiding, since I've been meaning to reread it, so that and the newest Tom Cox are likely next.

Expand full comment
author

Oh! And I love Tom Cox. I haven't read any of his books, but do enjoy his Instagram.

Expand full comment
author

What device are you doing your reading on? I'm not fond of ebooks, but will admit I haven't tried very hard. I am fond of the occasional spy/espionage thriller, but realize I haven't read any of his books! Maybe that's what I need right now...

Expand full comment
May 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

So far I've been reading on a Fire and another tablet, both are on the heavier side because they have other functionality. I've been told that the ones dedicated to reading alone are lighter. But I despise the UI...A few aspects are deeply unintuitive. Given current events, I figure I better get used to it--turning the text white on black has made me hate these things less.

As far as LeCarré, highly recommend The Pigeon Tunnel, I think it nicely set me up for the world that his characters occupy.

Expand full comment
author

If this goes on much longer - and based on the behaviors I'm witnessing around me I believe it will - I may have to plump for a device so I can read new books.

Expand full comment

"Validation Of Salt Dilution Method For Discharge Measurements In The Upper Valley Of Aniene River"

and

"Tech Note – Conducting Flow and Discharge Measurements"

Call me weird, fine. :) But you asked.

Expand full comment
author

There's something for everyone!

Expand full comment
May 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

It's been difficult focusing on reading while living with mother - she seems to know the precise moment I get comfy with a book and makes it her business to dash all my hopes of getting a chapter in, BUT I just received Jerry Saltz's new book How to Be an Artist and each of its one to two page chapters is just the ticket when I do get a moment to myself. Just a few chapters in and I'm inspired to get back to drawing.

I'm also looking forward to reading this book, which I found on the Colossal site and ordered thru Bookshop. I feel good purchasing books where a portion of the cost will go toward helping independent book sellers. Clever marketing, but alas, it does not grow mushrooms. https://www.thisiscolossal.com/2020/05/merlin-sheldrake-entangled-life/

Expand full comment
author

At first I thought maybe that was an old book with the cover of the Sheldrake book for affect, but I guess it's the real deal! I want to read that book for sure.

I ordered a copy of Printmaker from Uppercase - the last magazine said numbers were dwindling. It's gorgeous! I can't wait to work through it. I'm very tempted by the Ephemera and Vintage Life volumes as well. I'll probably buy them when the threaten that supplies are low...

https://uppercasemagazine.com/collections/books

Expand full comment
May 14, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Samantha Irby is about my speed right now. I was supposed to see her last month :( I did just finish Check, Please! Book 2, which I adored. Hockey + baking + gay romance? YES. Listening to Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed right now, which is a bit of a downer, but hopeful? And quick. Easing my way through Ted Chiang's Exhalation, which is delightful, as is everything he creates. Other than that, managing to keep up with my bookgroup via audiobooks, and purusing a variety of graphic novels and digital ARCs. Maybe I'll actually finish all my check-out items before we reopen? (12/49 left...mostly non-fiction).

Expand full comment
author

I started out reading a lot when lockdown started, but have found it to be a bit more difficult now. I have a few that I've checked out from the library, but a lot of them are non-fiction crafty types, or books about maps. Maybe I should just look at the pretty pictures...

Expand full comment
May 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I have been reading a lot! I am respecting my comfort zone, which is total mayhem. I've recently finished:

Louise Penny's 15th Three Pines mystery "All the Devils are Here" - As expected.

"The Passengers" by John Marrs - Self-driving cars that choose the survivor in a crash. What could possibly go wrong? I loved this so much I immediately procured a copy of "The One" to see if it measures up. I suspect Marrs is going to become a new favorite author. Side note: Check out the full-cast audio version.

"Shipwreck at the Bottom of the World" by Jennifer Armstrong - Shackleton expedition!

"The Silence of the Lambs" by Thomas Harris - I am craving fava beans!

I am 1/3 of the way through "The Split" by Sharon Bolton which is set in Antarctica (serendipity!). It grabbed my interest right away. Multiple perspectives, all of which seem unreliable on some level, and a sense of impending disaster.

I've also just started "They Did Bad Things" by Lauren A. Forry. It seems promising. A bunch of folks who were last together decades ago find themselves in the same remote manor house on the Isle of Skye. I'm guessing they did something bad. Heh heh.

I'm just beginning "The One" by John Mars. Find your perfect match with DNA technology! I'm hoping for at least one match made in hell.

Expand full comment
author

That is a nice varied list of books! Those Marrs books sound interesting.

Expand full comment
May 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I think you would enjoy "The Passengers."

Speaking of eBooks and devices, I'm reading "They Did Bad Things" in the Bluefire app on my iPad. Last night when I was ready to read I opened the app and had a Groundhog Day moment. I was back at Chapter One. Found my place, read a bit, got up for a drink, came back, and BAM! - back at Chapter One. Ugh. This has only ever happened to me once before, and it was in the Bluefire app. This is probably why I so rarely use that app.

I have a Kobo Aura One, which is a dedicated eReader. It's paperback size, waterproof (for reading in the rain?), glare-free, and it connects directly to the OverDrive catalog (both commercial and through your connected library). It's nice and light, it has cool lighting features, and good font options. The reason I don't use it exclusively? After setting the font size, I have to turn the page more frequently. My iPad has a bigger screen so I can get more words read before having to lift my finger. Remember the old massive Kindle devices? Oh, what I wouldn't give for a reader of that size. Princess problems.

Expand full comment
author

If I do get a reader, I think I need something that does color...

Expand full comment
May 16, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

For graphic novels and nonfiction with amazing illustrations and photos, yes?

Expand full comment
author

Yes! I can't imagine reading something like Saga in black and white. And all those craft books! Maps! All the color things. Do I have to get a tablet?

Expand full comment
May 16, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

There is buzz around a color device called iReader, but it doesn't look like it will be ready for English markets for a while yet. (https://goodereader.com/blog/electronic-readers/ireader-c6-is-a-full-color-e-reader-and-will-be-released-soon). I would look at Consumer Reports to find a device that fits the bill for you. Definitely look at weight and available covers/stands (which will add weight). I use a nifty stand so I don't have to hold my tablet while reading if I don't want to. For my part, I like reading on my tablet because finding and downloading what I want is streamlined. Plus, research in the middle of the night when I just have to know what a blackhouse looks like.

Expand full comment