14 Comments
author

At work I've been taking advantage of being able to listen to a single artist on Spotify until I'm ready to move on to something different. Yesterday it was:

Echo and the Bunnymen - https://youtu.be/LbYxP11rbSM (my favorite!!!)

Nightingales - https://youtu.be/-Lf4Qoty3Yk

Wire - https://youtu.be/n0lhwq3K4lw

I'm a late arrival to loving Wire. We had a running joke here at our house based on my inability to identify a Wire song when it started playing. I think I can do it now!

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Neil Young, Harvest Album, 1972. Old Man for the lyrical style and melodic acoustic style (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1_Do_fc).

And if not just for its pure magical atmosphere, Harvest Moon, from Neil's 1992 album under the same name (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMjDc8MJotU).

Expand full comment
author

I'm so tired I just almost deleted your comment! Ugh. Neil Young is always good. Have you ever seen him play live? I've had the pleasure to see him there times:

* Neil Young & Crazy Horse + Sonic Youth

* Neil Young & Crazy Horse + Pearl Jam + Blind Melon (@ the Gorge, CRAZY show).

* Neil Young solo show

All were great shows!

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I have seen him live, within the last 5 years too. Once with Crazy Horse, which was a bit of raw noise - more than I liked - but when you go to a Crazy Horse concert, one should expect no less. So it was good. But seeing him solo - a different sort of raw performance - smooth and graceful folk acoustic intertwined with the raw power behind that old black Les Paul of his. Mmmmmmmm, so dang tasty.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

been playing a lot of Gang Of Four for obvious reasons... (Anne never got to see them by the way).

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

We are still deep into the Red Dirt/Texas Country sound of late, enjoying Flatland Calvary and Cody Jinks lately. Also listening to Tyler Childers. Bands we have seen live lately include Flatland Calvary (fun live), Shooter Jennings (diverse sound--heavy rock to country), Mike and the Moonpies (a great, fun live band), and outside the country realm, Courtney Barnett (solo show; I enjoyed her song writing and guitar work more than Justine who thought too many of her songs sounded the same), and St. Paul and the Broken Bones (great live retro soul). Bands coming to town that we are interested in: Andy Frasco and the UN, Jason Boland and the Stragglers, Sarah Shook and the Disarmers.

Expand full comment
author

I don't know most of those bands, so I will check them out! I like Courtney Barnett a lot, but can see why Justine thinks her songs sound alike. Some artists are best in small doses.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Very mood driven - sometimes into Rammstein or Eisbrecher because no one does rock like the freakin' Germans, sometimes New Wave especially Soft Cell and Pet Shop Boys, sometimes baroque and classical to calm the inner beast but don't quiz me on that.

Expand full comment
author

That's a good range of styles!

Expand full comment
Feb 6, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Well, anything from the Grateful Dead Universe, of course and as always. Ditto The Mermen (https://youtu.be/wJXQbX0A6eg). And very recently, Khruangin: https://youtu.be/q4xKvHANqjk

Expand full comment
author

The Mermen! I love their surfy-jam style. They remind me of the Red Elvises, in a roundabout way: https://youtu.be/n0lhwq3K4lw

Khruangin - I skimmed through the songs, nice groove. I really liked the funkiness of the second to the last song.

Expand full comment
Feb 6, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Lately I've been listening to a ton of Can and Siouxsie (I say lately like that's a new thing), but also some really great newer stuff from Chris Weeks, Dirty Dishes, Rafael Anton Irisarri, Jacaszek, A Winged Victory for the Sullen. Wildly swinging between noisy and quieter instrumentals.

Expand full comment
author

I love Can! And Siouxsie. I will check out the others you've mentioned.

Expand full comment

i signed up for spotify recently and have rediscovered a bunch of albums that i loved in my teens that are still awesome. for starters, the pixies trompe le monde (alec eiffel!!!) is much better than i remembered, and matthew sweet's altered beast have been in heavy rotation as well.

Expand full comment