16 Comments
author

I almost forgot - here's a nice collection of articles on about PIE on Atlas Obscura that will make you hungry too.

https://www.atlasobscura.com/categories/pie

Expand full comment
Aug 12, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

One of my favorites is sformato--it's a kind of savory Italian flan/custard, or more usually I'd describe it as a crustless quiche. I rarely use a recipe--especially as I cook based on what I've got--but there are a lot of good ones out there. Really nice for when you don't feel like fussing with crust.

Expand full comment
author

Oooh, I looked those up and they look very tasty.

Expand full comment
Aug 12, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Pizza Pie ... of coarse.

Expand full comment
author

What are your favorite toppings?

Expand full comment
Aug 14, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Many things. Most anything is fair game except anchovies

Expand full comment
author

Yuck. Anchovies... Michael loves them, so when we make pizza at home we split it down the middle so he can enjoy that abomination.

Expand full comment

Oh my gosh! That looks so good! One of my favorites is Chicken Pot Pie, served with a bed of rice. I have a really awesome recipe, that I am now going to have to search for... Super easy. And for the record, I do not make my own crust. I get the Pillsbury crust, and roll it out so it is thin. Much easier. I was a pie crust failure, in tears, and ended up throwing it all in the garbage the first time I attempted my own. Remember the Pillsbury Dough boy? Giggle. :>)

Expand full comment
author

Michael has perfected his pie crusts through many years of practice. The quiche he makes has cheese crust! Which just makes it all that more evil (and good). I can tell it's almost fall because all the meat pies are sounding really good to me right now...

Expand full comment
Aug 13, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

)There are so many, but one is Moravian Chicken Pie. A whole chicken is cooked with standard pot pie veggies (carrots. celery, onion etc.) Stewed a long time until it's falling off the bone. Chicken is shredded, veg is left out. So you have a pie full of savory chicken with flaky crust.

Expand full comment
author

That sounds great!

Expand full comment
Aug 13, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Was literally watching this when I opened your email.

The answer to the question is Pumpkin and Shepard’s!

https://youtu.be/jgwh7nznKtM

Expand full comment
author

I loooooooove Shepard's pie!

Expand full comment

it's so funny you are talking about this! my terrible no good boss actually recommended a pie place that might be a bit closer to you; the snohomish pie company. she got one of their pies last weekend and has had nothing but rave reviews! i looked them up online and they do have quite a few delicious offerings. (i hear their cinnamon rolls are also delightful) personally i love a good old fashioned cherry pie. pecan pie is a close second.

Expand full comment

I like to make a spanakopita variation, especially when I have guests, if that time will ever come again. I use frozen phyllo dough sheets and spread them out in a pie pan, olive oil brushed between each sheet (approx. ten sheets.) and fill it up with a mixture of riccotta & feta (8 oz. of each), chopped baby spinach, sauteed chopped yellow onion, pepper. Then top it with ten more sheets of phyllo, pop it in the oven until the phyllo is golden and crisp. Deliciousness awaits!

Expand full comment

Ooooh, I forgot. Add a whisked egg to the filling.

Expand full comment