13 Comments
author

Hooray for maple babies! I would really like to turn my yard into a maple grove. I have a big easter lily by the front porch that I don't really like. Sure, it looks vaguely tropical and the white flowers briefly look nice before they fall over and look messy. I'd much rather have a nice Japanese maple there for some fall color.

I planted some crocosmia bulbs along our front porch to go with the plant I put in last year. I look forward to the bright flowers and the hummingbirds that love them. GROW FASTER

Expand full comment

Bonus: crocosmia when dried has a great architectural quality. Already thinking about the skeletons of winter plants.

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I, too, have a couple maple babies! Mine are looking like acer palmatums, nothing as dramatic as the big leafs. I also rescued a squirrel-planted hazel and have to figure out whether I really want a squirrel tree--part of me really wants one, even though I'm working with a fairly small city lot.

Otherwise, It's the usual big crop of garlic (and their scapes), more herbs than I can eat, mibuna, kale, tatsoi (slugs notwithstanding), lettuce, rhubarb, gold potatoes, tomatoes, zucchini, 3 kinds of peas and 2 beans. Cucumbers and shishito peppers went into the ground and are slowly getting on, as are the fall Kuri and acorn squash still in the greenhouse. Carrots and nettle never went anywhere--I think it's a bad year for the former, and I'm not sure I kept the nettle damp enough. But I am trying to establish some comfrey as a means of making better compost tea, and as I have baby fruit trees now, comfrey is good medicine.

I like to grow hard-to-find stuff, so I'm curious where everyone sources their seeds. I've used Baker Heirloom Seeds and Strictly Medicinal, as well as Kitazawa Seed Co.

Where do you get yours?

Expand full comment

I really love Uprising Organic Seeds! They are up in Bellingham, and they carry a bunch of native seeds. :) https://uprisingorganics.com/

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Ooh thanks! I forgot about them and I really prefer to get some local stuff.

Expand full comment
author

Funny how you can't grow nettles when you want them, but they sure are happy on their own! They definitely need the dampness.

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

We started transplanting and seeding our raised beds in April. Carrots, beets, Walla Walla sweet onions, garlic, pole green beans, leeks, cauliflower, basil, blueberries and strawberries. We've had only one ripe strawberry, so they're running late (thanks, June-uary!). The carrots sprouted quickly and then vanished. First, we suspected a rabbit, so we fenced the bed and replanted. The seeds sprouted well. Yay! Then I found a slug slowly mowing down a row of green sprouts last night. I heaved the lil bastard into the woods and surrounded the rows with coffee grounds as future deterrence. Looks like we're gonna really have to love beets this year. I think I overcompensated for last year's crop disaster, when we harvested six. Either that accursed rabbit or our neighborhood pack of deer ate the rest of the seedlings and greens. The basil is struggling in the cold and damp. The onions and garlic seem to be doing fine. The beans are filling out and starting to rise. The leeks aren't showing yet, but I only put those seeds in last week.

Expand full comment
author

That's a very busy garden you have!

When I lived in Oak Harbor and had a vegetable garden, I grew basil quite successfully from starts and seed. I always waited a little longer to put them in, until things really got warm.

I don't really miss the vegetable garden, though I do miss some of the results. I was ready for a break when we moved. It's a lot of work, and while I enjoyed it most of the time, I always felt like I was falling behind taking care of it. It was a constant battle with bindweed. I really don't miss that!

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Reading Amanda's post, I forgot about our lettuce box. It's very full and productive.

Expand full comment
Jun 10, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

And I forgot the tomatoes. They're growing like crazy and starting to bloom. Oh, and the tiny Japanese maple seedling that I found as an inch-long red twig in the dirt. It has four leaves now!

Expand full comment
Jun 11, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I rather rudely neglected my berry situation, which is funny, since I have raspberry coming up everywhere and the 3 thornless blackberries have taken over an entire bed, shading out strawberries and lingonberries.

Growing trees from seed or near-seed is a great project, back when I was a gardenless apartment dweller I used to grow avocados, despite the fact that I'd never have a place to plant them. It's an optimistic action.

Expand full comment

usually by now i have my garden well started, but this year i'm moving slow! my raspberry canes are loaded with bees and nascent berries, my first round of peas got eaten by slugs but round two is holding in, and my wildflowers are very happy with all the rain we've gotten! i have a couple of pumpkin starts that need to go in the ground too, and i'm trying my hand at lettuce because there's nothing my husband likes more than a big salad. i'm hoping this weekend to put in my pole and climbing beans.

Expand full comment
author

It's kind of hard to get too enthusiastic when the weather is gloomy.

Expand full comment