8 Comments
Jun 25, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

It's not a big deal to us here, as we prefer off-season travel. But one year we snuck into a cancellation spot on Lake Crescent a few days before July 4th and it wasn't terrible.

I think the hard part is that we're probably not going to be doing any camping or hiking, so it's very likely that the tent will be erected somewhere in the backyard to enjoy some bug-free stargazing.

Expand full comment
author

We do have our trailer in the backyard, so I plan on sitting out there and pretending I'm camping. Without having to share a bathroom with anybody else...

Lake Crescent is beautiful! I love Fairholme campground on the west end.

Expand full comment

i used to really love the 4th of july carnival as a kid! i used to always take my little sister with me, and she and my friends would ride the big rides while i held everyone's jacket. (not a huge fan of heights!) this year i have no plans, and taking a vacation even during non-pandemic times where i work is hard to swing (they are serious capitalists here), so until we get locked down again i'll be at work and home i guess. it hardly feels like summer since we can't really go anywhere, but i am relieved that covid means i have a good excuse to skip the in laws fourth of july bbq. they are lovely people, but terrible cooks and on the conservative side of the political spectrum, so i won't miss avoiding dry hamburgers and another lecture about fake news.

Expand full comment
author

I like how you very confidently state "until we get locked down again." Based on behavior so far, how well do you think people are going to do over the 4th of July?!! Terrible.

Having a good excuse NOT to socialize is a slight silver lining.

Expand full comment
Jun 25, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I've not been interested in carnivals and festivals for a very long time. I do enjoy a good parade, but only inasmuch as I might see a really good marching band or Über-interesting cultural group dancing, singing, sharing something wonderful of their fascinating culture. Did you ever notice how happy or reverent those groups seem? It's wonderful to have the ability to share your culture with a sense of pride and joy. It should be okay to do that every day.

Expand full comment
author

I was always so impressed with the Filipino women who walked the entire length of Oak Harbor parades in their high heel shoes.

Expand full comment

And their beautiful balintawak dresses and smiles.

Expand full comment
author

This will be our first 4th at home here in Everett. No camping trip for us, so we will instead wait and see how bad the fireworks get. I'm hoping they won't be too bad (they're illegal in Everett), but I do expect some. I do have six days off - huzzah! We'll be hanging out here at home mostly, relaxing. I'm disappointed we won't be sitting in the trees at Newhalem, but I can enjoy our yard and not think about work.

The only thing I miss about parades and carnivals is the people watching and opportunities for great photos. The thought of being around people right now is abhorrent to me.

Expand full comment