31 Comments
author

I really dislike earwigs. I'm a big fan of insects and such, but the sight of a wriggling mass of them always makes my skin crawl.

I've known people who are terrified by moths, which always struck me as odd because I love them so much.

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Ditto on the earwigs! We had a small centipede in our house this summer, which also freaked me out. I grew up somewhere that has larger centipedes and my mom actually got stung by one in the shower (it was hiding in a fold of the shower curtain).

Expand full comment
author

That's just wrong.

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I can't watch scary movies. My parents let me watch The Excorcist and The Shining when I was small, and while I appreciate their sense that I was just a wee adult, it might have triggered something in me. I've since watched The Shining and enjoyed it enormously, but other films that have too much body horror or make me feel empathic produce a strong negative physical reaction.

Watching a small clip of Midsommar was a really bad idea, but sometimes you just have to poke a bruise. I did see Greenroom, which was great, but my heart raced the entire time.

Expand full comment
author

Some of the best scary movies are those without any bloody gore. I'm not big on the gory stuff, but a good psychological thriller is fun now and then. Amazingly, I've never seen The Shining!

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I can highly recommend that you not waste one moment of your life on The Shining. I recently watched it for the first time and was decidedly underwhelmed.

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I can stand gory movies if it's obviously over the top. Shawn of the Dead, Zombieland, and Ready or Not come to mind. Who knew gore could be hilarious? Other than that, I'm completely with you on avoiding horror movies. I will get my aerobics in by moving spiders, thank you very much. {{{shudder}}}

Expand full comment
author

I did love Shawn of the Dead!

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I am freaked out by attic creaks when I’m home alone. Also, a tad afraid of mirrors at night. When I was a kid, I was introduced to the legend of Bloody Mary and I haven’t completely expunged that fear from my system.

Expand full comment
author

House noises at night are the worst. Creaky doors. Eeek.

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I am not afraid of bugs, spiders, or snakes. I think monkeys and apes are extremely frightening, though. I think it's partly the uncanny valley thing, and also they scream and have sharp teeth and are smart. The scariest thing is baboons, which are like monkeys+wolves+hands. Very upsetting. I once saw a nature documentary that showed baboons expressing dominance by raising their eyebrows at each other, and it was such a human-looking gesture that it really gave me full-body chills.

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

When my partner and I were at a zoo years ago, we couldn't look at the gorillas in part because of that uncanny gaze.

And then there's that bit about the baboons ripping apart those they consider outsiders, so extremely relatable.

Expand full comment
author

Now I can't stop thinking about baboons.

As for the uncanny valley, I recently heard somebody misuse that term in a meeting. He was talking to a group of people who had completed some work that had taken several months. He was expounding about how they had completed a journey, "traveling through the uncanny valley" to reach their success. All I could think of was them all walking through a valley full of those Japanese robots that look so much like humans, looking this way and that like John Travolta in that scene from Pulp Fiction.

https://giphy.com/gifs/nba-20k1punZ5bpmM

Surely SOMEBODY else in that meeting also caught the incorrect use of that term, but I did not see any funny faces on the Zoom call...

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Spiders make me jump every time. They just scare the heck out of me, even though I know most wouldn't hurt me (intentionally). I don't kill them, though. I have a catch-and-release policy. I am in the aerobic zone the whole time. I do walk away very quickly after releasing them. Hey, some of those spiders are fast!

I don't like haunted houses. Those people are trying to scare me. It's their job. I know it and they know it, and I just can't take it. Why would I pay for that?

Finally, I will never understand why anyone would watch Doctor Pimple Popper. Talk about horrific.

Expand full comment
author

Not too long ago I picked up my pillow to fluff it up before bed and a VERY LARGE SPIDER ran very quickly across the bed. I somehow managed to catch it and release it to the far side of the front yard. I don't generally mind spiders but not in the bed please. NO. Now every time I pick up my pillow I expect to see another one.

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

NO! I would die. I. Would. Die. I am at DEFCON 1.

Expand full comment

Sorry. It’s still trump and this impending election. It makes me appreciate finding doll heads strapped to trees in the middle of the wilderness.

Expand full comment
author

It's all relative, isn't it?

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Mirrors in the dark. Did that move?

I've mostly been able to repress it in my adulthood. Thanks Poltergeist II. It was at that point that I decided I needed to skip most horror movies in order to keep that stuff out of my head. I do like a good horror comedy, as mentioned elsewhere.

House sounds at night can also be an issue. Moreso if I were alone, which is not a thing now in the age of small children. My son's door as a very singular sound when it opens, which, if it weren't so helpful to know when he's on the move, I would have fixed long ago. However, on the rare occasion I hear it in the middle of the night, and check on him, only to find him deeply asleep... WHAT MADE THAT SOUND, AND IS IT COMING FOR MY CHILDREN?

Expand full comment

the thought of working until i die :) seriously, i'm terrified that my retirement plan is literally "a van by the river."

i love scary movies, but it wasn't until my mid twenties that i could stand them. i went home early from many a slumber party in my youth when the freddy krueger or jason movies came out.

and i am afraid of heights. a step ladder is about as high as i can go, and even then my palms sweat a bit.

Expand full comment
author

I think that's a very real terror, much worse than creepy crawly insects. I'm scared the safety net I've been paying into for all these years will be stolen away.

Expand full comment

A single sneaker left along a forest trail, that feeling of being watched while alone on a forest trail, walking into a spiderweb in the forest, SPIDERS anywhere in my house, robots that have legs like spiders, really long fingernails, like really long and curved, finding live bugs in flour, finding dead bugs in a lamp fixture, dump huts in primitive campsites...especially at night.

Expand full comment
author

I just remembered something! I worked at a movie theater as a teenager, and at one point some tiny moths showed up in the candy display case. Somebody figured out that the batch of one of the candies we were selling had been infested with the larva and they were hatching. Goobers, I think it was.

Who knows how long we were selling those to people who then sat and ate them in the dark...

Expand full comment
Oct 17, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

omg

Expand full comment
Oct 15, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Is that young Nolan in that photo? 😀

Expand full comment
author

It is indeed! We were on our way to a zombie walk!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/librarianguish/albums/72157602600090453

Expand full comment
Oct 17, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

What fun! Fantastic photos - you and Nolan are adorable zombies! Love the Archie McPhee photos, too. 🖤🧡🖤🧡

Expand full comment
author

That was a really fun day all around!

Expand full comment
author

Those are all very creepy things. Live bugs in flour! eeek

Expand full comment

Not scared of much but live- "real" people. Although there is some spooky spots on the mountains here. About a mile from me is an abandoned coal thing. It seems tipped over and it is blocking a cave maybe, or hole-lord knows... Anyways the area is colder always and has a bad mojo feel. I'm obsessed. 🐱‍🐉

Expand full comment

Oh and there was a terrible mining accident here, a lot of people killed-denial of body count-accountability etc... That was in 1911.... On my actual birth date. (all true look it up-#ravensdale) -so thats weird I reckon. Ok bye...😘

Expand full comment