19 Comments
Feb 21, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Grilled cheese! I like to use a sharp cheddar on the inside (rye bread or a grainy bread) and crisp up some nice horseradish cheddar on the outside of the bread while frying. A pickle on the side and a handful of salt and vinegar kettle cooked potato chips and I'm in comfort nirvana.

Expand full comment
author

I like to try out grilled cheese sandwiches at different restaurants when we're out for lunch. I still love mine the best - very basic. Buttered sourdough bread and Tillamook medium cheddar. I'll use different types of cheese or add ham and/or a slice of tomato sometimes. The best is where there's a little bit of blue cheese lurking around to add to it...

Expand full comment
Feb 20, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Does this topic have anything to do with tomato soup and grilled cheese croutons?

Expand full comment
Feb 21, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Yummy!

Expand full comment
author

Geeeez, who knew how badly we would need that soup today...

Expand full comment
author

It may, yes.

Expand full comment

A heavy shot of Woodford,

Splash of sweet vermouth

A couple shakes of bitters.

Expand full comment

If I'm still hungry, grilled cheese and tomato soup.

Expand full comment
Feb 21, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

One of my all-time favorite foods is Stouffer's macaroni and cheese (it comes closest to the school cafeteria version I've always loved). Pinto beans and ham with cornbread is another favorite. Every now and then I want a McDonald's cheeseburger with squishy, greasy fries. I still mourn the loss of beef in the cooking oil for their fries - they just don't taste as good without it. For sweets, I like really good ice cream or gelato like Häagen-Dazs or Tillamook. And chocolate. Wait, have I mentioned PIZZA? I could eat pepperoni pizza every day for the rest of my life and never get tired of it. The pepperoni needs to be on top of the cheese, though.

Expand full comment
Feb 21, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

What kind of animal puts pepperoni under the cheese??

Expand full comment
author

I used to eat that mac & cheese in a previous life. The best was the crispy cheese on the edges.

Expand full comment
Feb 20, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Noodles, yes! especially "Chapagetti," a kind of instant-ramen thing I buy at H-Mart that has black bean sauce. Probably not super nutritious but very comforting.

Expand full comment
author

Sounds good! What/where is H-Mart?

Expand full comment
Feb 20, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Winter might be clinging to you, but down here it's beautiful spring! But, to your question: it's a toss-up between tomato soup & a grilled cheese sandwich (childhood) and Top Ramen with added egg (college).

Expand full comment
author

I may have taken up eating an egg in ramen in a roundabout way because of you... that was when I started that tasty habit. You can never go wrong with grilled cheese and tomato soup.

Expand full comment
Feb 21, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I’m like the Johnny Appleseed of egg-in-ramen.

Expand full comment
author

I have an image in my mind of college-Harold traveling the countryside sharing the joy of egg-in-ramen with all the peoples.

Expand full comment

it's super basic, but this time of year i just want pasta. buttered noodles!!! my current fave is any kind of spiral or shape, with kerrygold butter, liberally sprinkled with nutritional yeast and black pepper. last night i made it with a bit of blanched arugula and a few toasted pepitas and it was great.

Expand full comment
author

I love pasta! Michael makes a simple dish with butter, garlic (a lot), and peas. Dash a little parmesan on top and YUM.

Expand full comment