17 Comments
author

I really miss being able to hop in the car on a Saturday and going for a random drive somewhere with lunch along the way. The restaurants we try aren't always very good, but the change of scenery is always welcome.

Expand full comment

This ^^^

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Sanity. I crave being able to just walk into anywhere without having to worry about wearing a masks. I miss being able to gather with friends at a restaurant or coffee shop. Video visiting is nice but it just doesn’t hold the same intimacy as an in person gathering. And most of all I crave the hugs from my close friends.

Expand full comment
author

Ah, yes. Just DOING normal, everyday things without the stress and precautions would be nice. It makes the irresponsible behavior of some people all the more maddening, because it extends the time we can't do these things.

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

The feeling of walking into a bar, sitting down, and the person behind the bar smiling in recognition. Being among strangers and not feeling a sense of doom.

Here's hoping at least a few of my favorite third places manage to survive all this.

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I miss traveling, too. Seeing these photos reminded me of my lunch at the Chop House BBQ joint around the corner from the Music City Center in Nashville. It also reminds me of how we got absolutely drenched on our way to meet you all at the Legendary Milkshake bar.

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Right now I'm really craving a Hot Chicken Burrito Bowl and whatever that caramel laden potato chip encrusted heap of deliciousness is.

Expand full comment
author

That's a piece of cheesecake sticking up on the left...

I had a moderate bowl of ice cream with a couple of toppings, and it was really good! Not quite as wild as the full-size milkshakes.

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I miss being able to shop for groceries or get a takeaway without having to go through some strange COVIDOCD cleansing ritual. Eating food prepared by others these days terrifies me. It's not the food, it's the packaging! Did they touch the inside of the container? Were the kitchen staff all wearing their masks properly? Who knows? Sigh.

Expand full comment
author

We've come to the conclusion that people can't be trusted. Better safe than sorry...

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

And isn't that a shame? Things could have been so different if people would only listen to science-based recommendations. We would still be dealing with this virus, but there would be a few more Americans around to enjoy Thanksgiving tomorrow (and maybe even at the same table as their loved ones).

Expand full comment

i have been craving the food court at uwajimaya! once i get there, i'm going to have the roasted duck (i'm going to get a whole one, even!), the onion tofu, the chow yun fat, and as many vietnamese iced coffees as i can before i explode! then i will buy all the rice crackers and that rose iced tea i love so much. i can't wait.

Expand full comment

I'm making Amanda Pants my influencer-of-the-month ::: quickly makes note to eat and drink all these interesting things in the post-Covid world, too ::: Sounds soooo good!

Expand full comment

I miss dim sum. Then again, I can't find a decent authentic Chinese restaurant since I lived in San Fran. Too many have been Americanized to cater to wimpy palates.

That milkshake looks like something out of the Paula Dean recipe book. Chips? Honesty, no! Just ... no!!

Expand full comment

I'm shocked about the dim sum situation...is this the case even in the Sunset and Inner Richmond? Noriega in the former and Clement Street are where it's at, but then again, it has been a while since I lived there.

Expand full comment

I've been missing all those little plates you get with Korean food.

Expand full comment

I really miss the food you and Mike would of probably made me when I came for a cuppa and MOGmeetup. I am pretty sure the things I miss are the things we all missed this year. Moments and meals that were not in the cards. But the best thing to do is move forward and laugh...carrying on...

Expand full comment