7 Comments
author

On a more positive note, the top pre-pandemic thing I did that I now find horrifying was spend several days in Nashville with thousands of librarians at the PLA conference. Even though thoughts of the virus were lurking in our minds, we managed to have a great time and I do look forward to going back someday. The wild milkshake shop is just one street over from the bombing, I imagine it was one of the businesses damaged in the blast.

The other top travel experience of the "before time" was the trip with Michael to Ocean Shores, especially the goofy wading through the bogs in the dunes. There's no way an ocean trip will happen next February, so we'll just have to wait.

Expand full comment
author

I'm going to get right to it with my top disappointment(s) of the year. The cancelation of the Algiers show, which I was REALLY looking forward to.

And no camping - I really missed getting out into the mountains or to the Peninsula this year. The hassle of getting there and sharing a bathroom with all those people (which can be gross at the best of times).

Finally - people. The behavior of so many people, acting as if the pandemic is no big deal and the calls to stay home don't apply to them. The mere thought of wearing a mask sending them into tantrums the brattiest toddler could be proud of. SO DISAPPOINTING.

Grumble grumble.

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Hey, we have what, nearly 1.5 days before the end of the year, so I'm reserving judgment. But I had planned on doing much more camping/hiking and less working on our house. And I was going to make more work...and get a new job...and finally travel after a couple years of sticking around here.

Other people were probably a low. I wish people would understand that adaptability is a human trait, and ADAPT. I understand disaster fatigue, but giving in to conspiracy and selfishness has to prove humans are the worst.

But high points: going for walks in different neighborhoods, and reminding myself that my psychogeographic powers are still working. I had an insanely productive garden, once it got going.

Expand full comment
author

I love vicariously walking the Seattle neighborhoods with you! So much to see when you slow down and really look.

Expand full comment

I am frustrated with the constant displays of rudeness on the road. Loud obnoxious vehicles. Honking. Flipping off. Tailgating... it is out of control!! Speaking of rudeness... I am thrilled that tRump is out of here! I am used to teaching from home, although the workload is overwhelming. My dogs love me home all day, and I have set them up beds to join me at "school in my dining room". The kids ask to see them all the time. I am thankful that I am still able to volunteer at the animal shelter 3 days a week. :>)

Expand full comment
author

Rowland loves having me home all day every day! He's a bit large to hold on my lap so people can see him when I'm in a meeting - but they can hear him snoring! He's well-known for that now.

I'm glad I'm not out there driving around. It sounds awful!

Expand full comment

I'm in the best shape of my life thanks to this crazy pandemic. During March, I ran daily as a coping tool to process the intense pivot to distance learning with kiddos with special needs. At the onset of the shelter in place, I stocked up and prepared for cooking three meals a day and avoided going to the grocery store as regularly as I had in the past. Instead, I went to a local CSA for my produce. Inadvertently, I developed a mostly vegetarian diet (ovaterian & pescaterian). I still get my meat on from time to time but finally realized that I can manage without better than I thought.

I've been enjoying doing deep dives into Japanese cooking. I like to learn new recipes to incorporate into my daily & weekly rotations. I like perfecting a simple process and committing it to memory.

I really miss live experiences with people. This fall, I started going to work (my school site) weekly to do paperwork but mostly to see other humans live and face to face. I shared live masked and distanced time with some family over the months but crave more, especially a hug or two.

Distance learning has been challenging but much better this fall since my students are seeing their general education teachers daily. This continuity has helped with my scheduled times as they are showing up much more engaged to my session.

I've joined more committees than I'd like to admit but I feel like I'm part of the solution rather than being in the wings complaining.

It's been a tough few months but not as terrible as others have experienced. I'm grateful I have a job and that it is secure. I'm grateful that my family and friends believe in science and are being safe. I'm grateful my brother-in-law, a firefighter survived the horrendous fire season and a bout of asymptomatic COVID-19. Life might be tricky at times; but it's okay right now.

Expand full comment