13 Comments
author

Perhaps you want a gift for somebody who only wants to paint - then I suggest the Park Color Project from One-Per-Week.

https://www.one-per-week.com

Two high-quality, small batch watercolors each month, with the colors inspired a National Park. I can confirm based on the first month's delivery that these are great! And they smell slightly of cloves...

Expand full comment
author

I'm going to kick off the conversation with another of my favorites - Field Notes.

https://fieldnotesbrand.com/

Perfect for anyone who likes to scribble notes in little notebooks. This subscription comes quarterly, and I swear they outdo themselves every time. I've let this subscription lapse, then resubscribed when they lured me in with something too good to pass up. I've also used the the notebooks as gifts themselves, as nice little extras to go along with other things.

Expand full comment

if you have kids, or middle aged women in your life who like sparkly things, i would recommend a pipsticks subscription! it's a sticker club, and for less than $15 a month you get the shiniest envelope known to man sent to you, full of stickers. they have adult packs and kids ones, but i won't lie; if you don't use a planner, don't get the adult ones. they aren't as fun as the kids ones. you can buy a few months at a time, or splurge and treat your loved ones to a year of stickers.

i'm also a huge fan of giving art supplies as gifts, more things to "do" than stuff, you know? dick blick, jerry's artarama, and jet pens all have excellent, easy to use websites and aren't amazon.

Expand full comment
author

FB keeps advertising those stickers to me! Anything but Amazon is always good.

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Perhaps someone would like a skull, framed beetle, or stuffed rat? I mean, who wouldn’t? https://theevolutionstore.com/

Expand full comment
author

Who among us does not want scorpion lollipops? A shark in a jar? An aluminum anthill casting (sorry out of stock)...

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

Luckily don't have to engage in gifting, but if I did, this would likely figure: https://persephonebooks.co.uk/products/book-subscription

I think this year all money goes to good causes, because what I really want is for Dems to have the Senate.

Expand full comment
author

Those books look wonderful!

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

This one’s on my list this year: a subscription to McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern https://store.mcsweeneys.net/products/quarterly-concern-subscription

I have a couple of their early volumes which are fantastic.

Expand full comment
author

This looks much better than the taxidermied cane toads...

Expand full comment
Nov 18, 2020Liked by Anne Murphy

I am not a stellar gift giver. But I realize I should get people things I like. Lately my go-to shopping has been on Etsy for things like notebook covers, vintage ornaments, handmade items, etc. If I’m kind of stabbing in the dark I might get a grooming item (since I use lots of them). For example I recommend Kiehl’s Creme de la Mer ($$) or other more affordable lotions along with a luvscrub (http://www.theluvscrub.com/). In addition to Etsy, I look to the Strategist website for ideas or browse catalogs like the Grommet or Uncommon Goods.

Expand full comment
author

Etsy could become a very dangerous place. But it's good to shop there to support small-scale sellers.

Expand full comment
author

One more from me - not a subscription box, but some really unique maps and tour guides from Herb Lester Associates. They're based in the UK, so shipping takes some time - but it's worth it!

https://www.herblester.com

They've got unusual maps, including "The Cryptid World," "Metal Mappa Mundi" (a map of world heavy metal), and my favorite, "Scarfolk and Environs." International travel guides, art prints, and other assorted bits and bobs are also available.

Perfect for your favorite pandemic armchair traveler!

Expand full comment